Use our free online resources for consumer research, online classes, language learning, newspaper reading and more.
-
Offers access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster dictionary & thesaurus and an interactive atlas. Many articles feature images, audio files, videos, and a list of recommended websites.
-
Canada’s Information Resource Centre now provides online access to four titles that we currently have in our collection:
- Canadian Almanac and Directory
The Almanac section has its own pages and is searchable along with the directory.
- Associations Canada
Introductory material is only available in PDF, the other content is searchable from the search fields.
- Canadian Parliamentary Guide
Introductory material is only available in PDF, the other content can be searched by various fields.
- Canadian Who’s Who
It has its own search screen. Please just click on the title and it will take you to the search screen.
Since all those four printed titles are for in-library use only, this online remote access will provide a convenient option to access a diverse array of virtual who’s who and what’s where in Canada
This online access is for a single-user license. If you have trouble logging on you may wish to try again later
-
This encyclopedia includes over 40,000 articles and 60,000 photographs, as well as maps, graphs, games, quizzes and videos. Updated regularly, it contains The Encylopedia of Canada, The Youth Encyclopedia of Canada. (in English only) The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, Feature articles on different subjects, MacLean’s Magazine articles and The Timeline of Canadian History.
-
Offers access to full-text content from several major publications including Consumer Reports, Canadian Geographic, Maclean's, Time and many more. It also includes full text biographies and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
-
CBC Corner - Discover the best Canadian shows, stories & more
Developed specifically for public libraries, CBC Corner is a digital portal that brings together the wide
variety of CBC and Radio-Canada digital content and resources into a single experience
This one-of-a-kind digital portal allows you to access a wide variety of content including
trusted news, local stories, entertaining TV and radio shows, award-winning podcasts,
educational kids content, innovative podcasts, a free English and French language
learning app, news in foreign languages, and much more!
-
ConsumerReports.org provides unbiased ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice from expert Consumer Reports’ testers for thousands of products and services such as cars, electronics, appliances, and more. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to find the latest consumer news — such as product recalls.
Articles from the CR current issue, archives from 2012 to 2022, and a five-year Index are all available.
-
The database allows searchable access to full articles, columns and features from the major French-Canadian newspapers and certain magazines such as Protégez-vous and L`Actualité. News sources include full-text articles from Le Droit, Le Devoir, La Presse, Le Soleil and SRC radio and television. About 20 small Ontario dailies are also included among other French and English language newspapers from across Canada.
-
Nearly 15,000 journals with full-text and indexed articles on a wide range of academic subjects with strengths in the physical sciences, technology, social sciences, the arts, business, literature and more. A wide range of limiters provide options for peer-reviewed, full-text articles, many as far back as 1980.
-
The Hilltimes.com – Canada’s political and government news service
Customers can access PDF versions of Ottawa's own twice-weekly newspaper, as well as previous, achieved issues back to 2004, or download and print a copy. They can also search articles dating back to 1989, and access PDF versions of the Embassy Archives from 2004 to 2016. The Hill Times absorbed Embassy magazine and doubled its print edition to be twice-a-week starting from April 2016.
In addition to the digital edition of the Hill Times, there will be full access to HillTimes.com for daily updated breaking exclusive stories and in-depth articles about the people, the policies, and the politics that make the news. Enjoy a diversity of opinions and points of view, from various political angles.
Both In-library and unlimited simultaneous remote access from home are available.
The Hill Times is independently owned and based in Ottawa. Their website states that they are independent and non-partisan. Articles are written by well-respected journalists.
-
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings in the field of librarianship.